The six shires (Koorda, Mt Marshall, Mukinbudin, Nungarin, Trayning, and Wyalkatchem) that comprise the North Eastern Wheatbelt Regional Organisation of Councils (NEWROC) have demonstrated a proactive and innovative approach to natural resource management and biodiversity protection by combining resources and pursuing collaborations with organisations that can contribute their expertise.

A strategic plan for natural resource management has been developed that states as its vision for NEWROC: to be a progressive and vibrant region that protects and enhances natural resources for conservation, lifestyle and economic benefit. In recognition of the NEWROC efforts a wide variety of organisations (at a regional, State and national level) have shown their support by offering assistance to NEWROC to achieve their vision for the region.